Community Engagement

When the project starts commissioning, it will generate about 2.2 billion kWh of clean energy every year, fulfilling 90% of the non-industrial electricity demand of Yunlin County. A part of the resulting revenue stream will be donated to the welfare of local communities in accordance with “Regulations for Implementing and Supervising Electricity Development Assistance Fund.”

A committee shall be set up to ensure that the allocation to the assistance funds is transparent. This will be based on the most appropriate use to support community activities. This should explicitly not be limited to long-term care services for the elderly and disabled, rehabilitation of fisheries resources, etc., but should cover as many different areas as possible.

The aim is to help encourage more younger generations to return to Yunlin County. The project will also create long-term O&M employment opportunities in the region, with priority given to workers from the local community. In addition, a NTD 100 million Youth Entrepreneurship Fund will be established to help young people start their own businesses.

The team members of Yunlin Offshore Wind Project also enjoy participating in community activities, experiencing local culture, and feeling the enthusiasm of local population:

Quianshuizang in 2020

Following our participation from past years, the OWF Yunlin team participated again in the Quianshuizang ceremony. This year (2020), we also invited our operation and maintenance partner for OWF Yunlin, Taiwan country manager- Marcel Meins from Deutsche Windtechnik to join the ceremony.

Building fishing raft

Boziliao in Yunlin’s Sihu Township is home to a high-quality coastal fishery industry, rich historic culture and breathtaking natural environments.

Kouhu Quianshuizang

The Kouhu Quianshuizang is the largest religious ceremony in Taiwan, dedicated to freeing the spirits of those who have passed in the flood of 1845 and forms a deep and meaningful part of the locals’ culture and traditions.

Finally, a large 640 MW offshore wind farm project involves a large number of contracts and other deals that generate a significant amount of stamp duty for the local government. The stamp duty for the project is NTD 60 million, which has provided additional funding to local governments to better serve local communities.

Environmental Education

The wpd Environmental Education Center (wpdeec) in Taiwan pursues the concept of promoting wind energy education and ecological sustainability. wpdeec was founded in 2018 in the Daan district in the city of Taichung and uses one of wpd's own onshore wind turbines as a teaching facility to design wind energy and ecological lesson plans. The main target of the project is schools, and almost one thousand people per year come from different districts and cities to participate.

Over the past two years, wpdeec has worked with the neighbouring communities and primary schools of the Yunneng offshore wind farm, junior high schools, communities and environmental education centres. Visits to the onshore wind farms or interactive RE activities have been organised, but also a historical study of the local ancestral temple was carried out together with the local YunTech University. We also sponsored a week-long OWF "Interactive VR Exhibition" with another local University. One of the events held here in 2019 was the "Popular Science and Education with Environmental Education" event with hundreds of participants from elementary schools in Yunlin County.

The next step is to conduct educational activities on marine conservation in Yunlin together with local NGOs, schools and communities. These activities will focus on the white dolphin in Taiwan. This is in the hope of raising public awareness of the measures the project has taken to reduce the environmental impact on the marine environment, especially on whales, during the OWF's construction work.

Tung-Men Elementary School, Hsinchu

An environmental education lecturer visited Tung-Men Elementary School in Hsinchu under Hsinchu’s famous autumn winds. Young students here grow up with the company of winds and thus are quite familiar with winds. Nevertheless, after finding out winds’ dominant role in offshore wind power generation, they had sparkles in their eyes and all seemed to become the vanguard of wind power.

Little guys and huge wind turbines

Students in Hai-Chian Elementary School near wpdeec had their first close visits to wind turbines after they had been being neighbors with these giants during studies for several years. The little guys had a special experience of meeting huge wind turbines in person.

Introduction to estuarine ecology

In the height of summer, students from Tan-Yang Elementary School in Taichung with conical bamboo hats on their heads for sun protection engaged in wind turbine experiential learning at wpdeec, got an understanding of estuarine ecology, and had fun learning in nature while playing wind power related games.

Jian-Yang Elementary School

Jian-Yang Elementary School, the closest school to Yunneng’s wind farm, located near Po-Tzu-Liao, Sihu Township, is a long-established elementary school with a beautiful environment. The principal Jui-Chang Huang, starting from his repairing of a wooden crescent blade for his son, has unexpectedly become a master craftsman of wooden pens. Indebted to professors from National Formosa University in Yunlin for the introduction, Jian-Yang Elementary School and wpd have built a bond of friendship.

Wind turbines built at sea

“Wind Turbines Built at Sea - Exhibition of Taiwan’s First VR Interactive News” was held at National Formosa University in Yunlin for one week. To share

社區參與

風場開始併聯發電後,除每年可供應雲林約22億度電、滿足雲林9成的非工業用電,依據「電力開發協助金 (電協金) 運用與監督管理辦法」,風場所發出的每度電,其部分的營收也將回饋到沿海社區。

為了使電協金的運用能夠公開透明,未來將成立電協金專戶管理委員會,雲林縣政府也會每季上網公布電協金的運用方式,歡迎各界共同監督,使電協金能有最妥適的運用,以充分支持社區活動、銀髮及身心障礙族群的長期照護、漁業資源復育、青年創業及環境教育等工作。

雲林離岸風場也希望能為雲林青年返鄉貢獻心力,一方面提供風場的長期運維工作機會、優先錄用在地青年,另一方面更將成立青創基金,為在地青年的創業之路助力。

允能團隊也樂於親身參與社區活動、體驗在地文化、感受在地鄉親熱情:

口湖牽水狀

湖牽水狀是允能風場的所在地—雲林縣口湖、四湖地區的重要民俗活動,是臺灣規模最大的水難祭儀。在傳承了174年後,成為當地民眾的歷史記憶;除了超渡、祭祀祖靈外,如今祭典也包含祈安的意涵。

造竹筏

雲林縣四湖鄉的萡子寮擁有優質淺海漁產,當地也潛藏豐富的文史與濱海自然生態。在允能團隊深蹲雲林的這段時間,對於地方協會與人士致力於社區營造的熱情留下了深刻的印象。

環境教育

達德能源環境教育中心秉持推廣風能教育,追求環境永續的理念,2018年成立於台中市大安區,提供達德能源的陸域風機作為教學風機,設計風能與生態教案,以學校為主要推廣對象,每年有來自各縣市近千人的環教參訪。

中心近兩年已陸續與雲林允能風場鄰近鄉鎮的小學、國中、社區和環境教育設施場所合作,舉辦風機參訪或交流互動的環境教育活動。並與位於雲林的國立雲林科技大學YunTech進行陸域風場參訪、地方宗廟人文歷史調查;並於2019年在雲林國立虎尾科技大學促成為期一週的”海造的風機-互動式VR展覽”,以及全縣國小參與的當科普遇見環教日活動。

接著預計與雲林在地NGO、學校、社區等進行以中華白海豚為主的海洋保育教育推廣活動,希望讓民眾了解進行離岸風場工程時,會採取哪些措施降低對海洋環境生態尤其是鯨豚的影響。

新竹東門國小

環境教育講師隨著九降風拜訪新竹東門國小,這裡的小朋友可是踩著風火輪長大的孩子呢,跟風熟的很! 但是當他們發現風在離岸風場發電的威風後,彷彿每個孩子都化身為風電小尖兵,眼底閃著火眼金睛的光芒!

小蝦米與大風機

鄰近環教中心的港墘國小學生,在與風機媲鄰而學多年後,首次貼近海邊的巨人,進行”小蝦米與大風機”的體驗!

認識河口生態

盛夏中,頭戴斗笠遮陽的台中潭陽國小學生在大安環境教育中心進行風機體驗學習、認識河口生態與在自然中學習的風能遊戲。

建陽國小

擁有與允能風場最短的距離特色的建陽國小,位於四湖鄉箔子寮附近,是一個歷史悠久,環境優美的小學。校長黃瑞璋為子修理關刀,而意外成為木工筆達人。承蒙雲林虎尾科技大學師長引見,書香傳情建立了達德能源與建陽國小的情誼。

海造的風機

在雲林國立虎尾科技大學舉辦為期一週”海造的風機-台灣首支VR互動式新聞展覽”。為了增進雲林在地鄉親對離岸風電的瞭解,國立虎尾科技大學,國立台灣大學新聞研究所與新興科技媒體中心一起合作,以VR的虛擬互動體驗感受離岸風場的樣貌。